Home | Nomination | Application form | Events | Sponsors | FAQ | Feedback | New Inductees | Members|

Burnaby Sports Hall of Fame 2008
• Builder •

Categories:  Athlete, Coach, Builder, and Team.

Lorne Davies

Sports at SFU

Lorne Davies was Simon Fraser University's first athletic director and credited with designing, implementing and overseeing Canada's first financially supported awards program for scholar athletes. Davies was a pioneer in changing how Canadian post-secondary institutions operated in order to keep university athletes in Canada. He established the first national sports training centres in Canada for soccer, wrestling and track and field. He also established the first women's varsity softball program in Canada. As well, Davies was the first to offer women athletes top coaching, equipment and scholarships. He hired full-time coaches in all varsity sports and appointed and trained Canada's first university sports information officer and marketing manager. Davies sat on the Terry Fox Humanitarian Award board for 20 years and the B.C. Sports Hall of Fame for 30 years, as well as many other volunteer committees. Davies was awarded the Order of British Columbia in 2000. He was named administrator of the year in 1989 by the NAIA and awarded the Premiers award for contribution to sport in 1994. He was inducted into the SFU Hall of Fame in 1986 and the Western Washington University Hall of Fame in 1995. Davies even has a Grey Cup ring, won in 1964 as an assistant coach with the B.C. Lions.

Sohen Gill


Sohen Gill has done it all in lacrosse. The current assistant commissioner of the Western Lacrosse Association is also the president of the B.C. Lacrosse Association.

Raised in North Burnaby, Gill played lacrosse as a youngster and went on to help lead the Norburn junior team to the Minto Cup as the league scoring champion. He played seven seasons in the senior leagues before moving behind the bench as coach and general manager of junior and senior clubs in the 1970s and '80s. Since then, Gill has held a variety of administrative posts, including coach and GM of the Maple Ridge Burrards, assistant commissioner of B.C. masters lacrosse, chair of BCLA senior directorate and CLA box sector, member of Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame western player selection committee Minto and Presidents Cup convenor, as well as others. Gill is a past winner of the CLA's Lester B. Pearson award for dedication and the Sport B.C. Daryl Thompson Award for extraordinary contribution to sport. Gill was inducted into the Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2005 and the B.C. Sports Hall of Fame this year.

Walt Torry


Walter Torry began setting five pins in the 1950s and hasn't stopped since. The long-time Burnaby resident was inducted into both the B.C. Tenpin Federation and American Bowling Congress halls of fame in 2000. A player, certified coach and organizer of league teams, Torry helped create and later served on the board of the BCTF, including as its president from 1979 to '91. He was also a director in the CTF for 17 years. As the CTF chair, Torry was responsible for bringing the prairie provinces into the youth championships, creating the first true national championships.

He represented Canada as a coach in the first World Games, as well as being a rep on the rules committee.

Torry has worked on developing many teaching coaching levels. From 1976 to 1996, Torry taught the tenpin university coaching course which preceded the U.S. Olympic gold program. In 1980, Torry was named coach of the year by the Bowling Federation of Canada. Torry has also spent 38 years in the Greater Vancouver Tenpin Bowling Association.