Home | Nomination | Application form | Events | Sponsors | FAQ | Feedback | New Inductees | Members|

Burnaby Sports Hall of Fame 2008
• Coach •

Categories:  Athlete, Coach, Builder, and Team.

Brit Townsend

Track at SFU

Brit Townsend has coached the Simon Fraser University women's team to the last five National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics cross-country and women's indoor track and field national championships.

Townsend was named the NAIA cross-country coach of the year in all five of those winning seasons from 2003 to 2007. An 800-metre outdoor NAIA champion in 1986, Townsend produced five individual national cross-country champions and two five-time indoor champions - Ruky Abdulai and Julia Howard. She was also coach of the year in 2005, when SFU won the NAIA outdoor track and field championships. Townsend coached Abdulai to 10 individual outdoor titles during her university career. That same year her women's cross-country won the five star Champions of Character award. Over the course of her 10-year coaching career at SFU, Townsend's student/athletes have won more than 40 individual NAIA athletics titles.  

Dave Lough


Dr. David Lough has sent more junior A lacrosse teams to consecutive Minto Cup finals than any other coach in the history of box lacrosse. Lough guided the Burnaby Lakers to 12 Minto Cup championships, winning five times in 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004 and '05. In 13 seasons as a co-coach of the junior A Lakers, Lough's only losing season was the first season in 1995. During his tenure, Lough fashioned a career league record of 248 wins and just 36 losses, winning 10 regular season titles from 1996 to 2002, and again in 2004 and 2006 through '07. In the playoffs, the Lakers were almost unbeatable, taking 12 straight B.C. titles, winning 82 times and losing just 15. In 12 consecutive appearances at the Minto, under Lough, Burnaby featured in 10 final title series or games in a row. His overall career coaching record with the junior A Lakers was 365 wins and 81 losses.