Home | Nomination | Application form | Events | Sponsors | FAQ | Feedback | New Inductees | Members|

Burnaby Sports Hall of Fame 2006
• T e a m •

2006Categories:  Athlete, Coach, Builder, and Team.

Back to members page

Burnaby Express Junior "A" Hockey Club

The Burnaby Express Junior A hockey team won it all in 2006.

The fifth-year Express franchise went from a team that had never won a first-round playoff series to being crowned the Canadian junior A champions following a resounding 8-2 win over Saskatchewan champions Yorkton Terriers at the Royal Bank Cup in Brampton, Ontario. In its playoff journey, the Express won the Fred Page Cup, emblematic of B.C. Hockey League supremacy, in six games over the Penticton Vees. They then won the Doyle Cup over the Alberta champion Fort McMurray Oil Baron four games to two, including the final game 6-0 at home. At the Royal Bank Cup, Burnaby posted a record of 4-1 to become the 10th BCHL team to win a national junior A title.

Burnaby began its playoff march as the fourth-placed team in the BCHL's Coastal conference. The Express swept Langley in straight games for its first ever playoff series' win. They then defeated their playoff nemesis Chilliwack Chiefs in five games for the Mainland Division title before knocking off Coastal champions Victoria Salsa in five games to win their first-ever conference banner.

Team members:

Not in order of apprearance in photo
Front:(L-R) Bryce Luker, Karen Ditchburn, Rob Lambie, Tim Delesalle, Dave Simoes, Pat Delesalle, Brady Cook, Darcy Rota, Peter Merth, Ian Mansfield, Brian Hannigan, John Bellefeuille, Matthew Gordon. Middle (L-R) Tyler McNeely, Steve Cunningham, Mark Santorelli, Billy Reimer, Paul Ng, Kolin Kritmaa, Dave McLellan, Rick Lanz, Ron Viet, Barry Jeboult, Mischa Polzin, Kyle Turris, Jovan Matic, Keith Seabrook, Mark Soares. Back (L-R) Brad Hunt, Jeff Orban , Mike Rempel, Anthony Wild, Mark Currie, Paul Crowder, Max Grassi, Jake Areshenko, Carlo Finucci.

 Home | Nomination | Application form | Events | Sponsors | FAQ | Feedback | New Inductees | Members|